I Don’t Usually Do This Type of Thing…

she farted.

Ok, so I’m sharing some strategy here.

Weeks are won on Mondays such as this one on the horizon.  With a few teams off, there is undoubtedly room to stream a player/ snag a guy for a fill-in role.  I do extensive research on nights such as this to see if I can exploit any ridiculous batter-pitcher matchups.  Well folks, I’ve found a great one.  Sometimes there is a matchup that just clicks (and I’m known for finding a few a year- ask Dave about my infamous Mike Cameron pickups).

ALEX RIOS VS. GIL MECHE

Gil Meche has been, simply put, very, very, very bad (and that was SIMPLY put).  Alex Rios has quietly been having a nice season for the White Sox – I swear I’m not getting paid to write about them.  Meche struggles at US Cellular Field (scroll down, it’s there) and it is prime heat-homer-vortex season.  All this is enough for me to look.  Look below and you’ll want to grab him, in a strictly he’s-going-to-have-at-least-a-hit-and-a-run-scored kind of way:

AB HITS 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP OPS
21 12 2 2 0 1 2 3 2 0 .571 .609 1.466

I hope those numbers speak for themselves.  I usually discount stats with less than 20 plate appearances, as that’s too small a sample size, so even that’s not an excuse.

Go pick him up.  If he’s there.  If not, grab Andruw.  Or Konerko… who should be gone not only because I posted about it but also because he HAS 12 HOME RUNS!!!!!

DO IT! DO IIIIIT NOWWWW!
you’re welcome.

-W

3 Comments

Filed under batter v. pitcher, Opinion, Pickups, Posted, Random Thoughts

3 responses to “I Don’t Usually Do This Type of Thing…

  1. dwhitey1124

    I’ll never forget your 2006 spot pickup of Wily Mo Pena. He hit 2 jacks for you. Made me respect you just a little bit more.

    Also, this strategy is just as good for pitchers. Brett Cecil against the Tribe tomorrow? I’m onboard.

  2. Pingback: WHAT DID I SAY??? « Ducks on the Pond

  3. so…… looks like I strike again

Leave a Reply

